ENROLLED ORDINANCE 171-072

MODIFY 2017 BUDGET OF THE CIRCUIT COURT SERVICES TO APPROPRIATE EXPENDITURES FOR THE PURCHASE OF NEW JURY BOX SEATING WITH RESERVED FUND BALANCE FROM JUROR SERVICE FEE DONATIONS FROM PRIOR YEARS

WHEREAS, the Waukesha County Board authorized the establishment of a Voluntary Juror Donation Program (Enrolled Ordinance 164-50), which allowed persons serving as jurors in circuit court to donate some or all of their county paid per diem fees and travel expenses to fund special Jury Program improvements, and

WHEREAS, funds totaling \$13,203 have been donated back to the County from the program's inception in 2010 and thru December 31 of the 2016 fiscal year, and

WHEREAS, the Clerk of Circuit Court has reviewed jury improvement needs and has determined that the Juror seating in Courtroom C-267 requires upgrade and replacement with an estimated cost of \$7,400, and

WHEREAS, this upgrade is appropriate under the guidelines established in the Juror Donation Program and sufficient donated Juror Service and travel expense fees have been collected to pay for this upgrade.

THE COUNTY BOARD OF SUPERVISORS OF THE COUNTY OF WAUKESHA ORDAINS that the Circuit Court Services 2017 budget be modified by appropriating expenditures of \$7,400 for operating expenses for the purchase, installation and upgrade of new jury box chairs in Waukesha County Courtroom C-267 and increasing other revenue for reserved fund balance revenue by \$7,400 from assigned Juror Donation Program revenue.

FISCAL NOTE

MODIFY 2017 BUDGET OF CIRCUIT COURT SERVICES TO APPROPRIATE EXPENDITURES FOR THE PURCHASE OF NEW JURY BOX SEATING WITH RESERVED FUND BALANCE FROM JUROR SERVICE FEE DONATIONS FROM PRIOR YEARS

This ordinance modifies the 2017 Circuit Court Services Budget by authorizing additional expenditures of \$7,400 in the Operating Expense appropriation unit for the purchase and installation of upgraded jury chairs. The ordinance also increases Other Revenue by \$7,400 from reserved fund balance resulting from prior year donations from jurors who have chosen not to accept some or all of their statutory service payment or travel reimbursement payments. The Voluntary Juror Donation Program was established by Ordinance 164-50 and allows the use of these funds for jury improvement needs.

This ordinance results in no additional direct tax levy impact.

Linda Witkowski Budget Manager

Linda Withouska

1/4/2017

MY – BAJ #2017-00000077

File Number: 171-O-073

MODIFY 2017 BUDGET OF THE CIRCUIT COURT SERVICES TO APPROPRIATE EXPENDITURES FOR THE PURCHASE OF NEW JURY BOX SEATING WITH RESERVED FUND BALANCE FROM JUROR SERVICE FEE DONATIONS FROM PRIOR YEARS

| Approved By: | Approved By: |
|---|---|
| Judiciary & Law Enforcement Committee | Finance Committee |
| [Mul] | James C. Dennik |
| Peter M. Wolff, Chair | James A. Heinrich, Chair |
| Jim Batzko | Timothy Dondlinger |
| Michael A. Crowley | The A, Michalski Thomas A. Michalski |
| Kathleen M. Cummings | Richard Morris |
| Timothy Dondlinger | Duane E. Paulson |
| Jennifer Grant | Ted Wysocki |
| William J. Zaborowski | Steve Whittow |
| The foregoing legislation adopted by the County Bowlessensin, was presented to the County Executive | on: |
| Date: //24/17 , Kathleen Novack, | County Clerk |
| The foregoing legislation adopted by the County Bowlessensin, is hereby: Approved:X Vetoed: | oard of Supervisors of Waukesha County, |
| Date: 2-9-/7, Paul Farrow, Count | y Executive |

| RollCall-Pro Premium Tuesday, January 24, 2017, at 07:49 PM | | | | |
|---|----------|------------------------|---------------|--|
| D1 - Kolb | AYE | D14 - Wood | AYE | |
| D2 - Zimmermann | AYE | D15 - Mitchell | AYE | |
| D3 - Morris | AYE | D16 - Crowley | AYE | |
| D4 - Batzko | AYE | D17 - Paulson | AYE | |
| D5 - Dondlinger | (2) AYE | D18 - Nelson | AYE | |
| D6 - Walz | AYE | D19 - Cummings | AYE | |
| D7 - Grant | AYE | D20 - Schellinger | AYE | |
| D8 - Michalski | AYE | D21 - Zaborowski | AYE | |
| D9 - Heinrich | AYE | D22 - Wysocki | AYE | |
| D10 - Swan | AYE | D23 - Hammitt | AYE | |
| D11 - Howard | AYE | D24 - Whittow | AYE | |
| D12 - Wolff | (M) AYE | D25 - Johnson | AYE | |
| D13 - Decker | AYE | | | |
| 171-0-073 | Passed (| 25 Y - 0 N - 0 Absent) | Majority Vote | |