ENROLLED ORDINANCE 173-097

AMEND THE 2019 SHERIFF'S DEPARTMENT BUDGET FOR THE EXPENDITURE OF SEIZED FUNDS TO PARTICIPATING AGENCIES

WHEREAS, Enrolled Ordinance 141-41 authorizes the Sheriff's Department "... to participate in the program to transfer federally seized property to local enforcement agencies;" and

WHEREAS, the Sheriff's Department has such assets that had not been allocated during the 2019 budget process; and

WHEREAS, the Sheriff's Department has agreed to allocate a percentage of assets received to participating Metro Unit agencies using the methods set forth in the Bylaws of the Waukesha County Metropolitan Drug Enforcement Group.

THE COUNTY BOARD OF SUPERVISORS OF THE COUNTY OF WAUKESHA ORDAINS that seized assets received and reserved in general fund balance be appropriated by increasing in the 2019 Budget General Fund Balance account by an amount not to exceed \$5,128 and increasing the Operating Expense appropriation unit by an amount not to exceed \$5,128 to allow for the distribution of funds to participating Metro Unit agencies.

FISCAL NOTE

AMEND THE 2019 SHERIFF'S DEPARTMENT BUDGET FOR THE EXPENDITURE OF SEIZED FUNDS TO PARTICIPATING AGENCIES

Enrolled ordinance 141-41 (1986) authorized the Sheriff's Department to participate in a seized fund program, which transfers forfeited assets (seized funds) to those state and local agencies that contributed directly to the seizure of that property. The Sheriff's Department receives funds through the State Asset Forfeiture Program and acts as a trustee for a portion of these funds on behalf of participating Metro Drug Unit agencies.

According to Sheriff's Department staff, the Department annually distributes a share of State asset forfeiture seized funds received to participating Metro Drug Unit agency communities based on their participation status at the time of each seizure. Sheriff staff has determined that an amount not to exceed \$5,128 will be disbursed to Metro Drug Unit participating police agencies. The following participating agencies will receive seizure fund revenue: City of Waukesha (\$1,223); City of New Berlin (\$622); City of Brookfield (\$1,223); Village of Menomonee Falls (\$1,223); City of Muskego (\$83); Village of Hartland (\$68); Village of Pewaukee (\$245); Village of Elm Grove (\$245); and City of Oconomowoc (\$196).

This ordinance results in no additional direct tax levy impact in 2019.

Linda Witkowski

Budget Manager

2/5/19

BA# 2019-00001049

Linda Withowski

MY

AMEND THE 2019 SHERIFF'S DEPARTMENT BUDGET FOR THE EXPENDITURE OF SEIZED FUNDS TO PARTICIPATING AGENCIES

Approved By: Judiciary & Law Enforcement Committee	Approved By: Finance Committee						
Temul/	James a Vernich						
Peter M. Wolff, Chair	James A. Heinrich, Chair						
Jim Batzko	Timothy Dondlinger						
J. Buttako	Timothy Bondinger						
Michael A. Crowley	Absent Tyler J. Foti						
My D. M	Thomas A. Michalski						
Timothy Dondlinger	Thomas A. Michalski						
Tyler J. Foti	Richard Morris						
Jennifer Grant	Duane E. Paulson						
Chuck Wood	Ted Wysocki						
The foregoing legislation adopted by the County Board of Supervisors of Waukesha County, Wisconsin, was presented to the County Executive on:							
Date: March 12019 Margaret Wartman, County Clerk							
The foregoing legislation adopted by the County Board of Supervisors of Waukesha County, Wisconsin, is hereby:							
Approved:X Vetoed:							
Date: 3 4 2019 , Fall-fall							
Paul Farrow, County Executive							



Voting Results for Ordinance 173-O-097

Amend The 2019 Sheriff's Department Budget For The Expenditure Of Seized Funds To Participating Agencies

Passed With 17 Yes Votes Needed

AYE

AYE

D2 - Zimmermann

D1 - Foti

D3 - Morris

D4 - Batzko

AYE

AYE

AYE

D5 - Dondlinger

AYE

AYE

Second

AYE

AYE

D8 - Michalski

D6 - Walz D7 - Grant

D9 - Heinrich

D10 - Swan

AYE

AYE

D11 - Howard

D12 - Wolff

D13 - Decker

AYE

Motion

AYE

AYE: 25 NAY: 0 ABSTAIN: 0 ABSENT: 0

AYE	AYE	AYE	AYE	AYE	AYE	AYE	AYE	AYE	AYE	AYE
D14 - Wood	D15 - Mitchell	D16 - Crowley	D17 - Paulson	D18 - Nelson	D19 - Cummings	D20 - Schellinger	D21 - Gaughan	D22 - Wysocki	D23 - Hammitt	D24 - Whittow

D25 - Johnson