ENROLLED RESOLUTION 173-003

RESOLUTION TO APPOINT MARGARET WARTMAN AS THE WAUKESHA COUNTY CLERK TO FILL THE VACANCY FOR THE REMAINDER OF THE UNEXPIRED TERM

WHEREAS, Section 17.21(3), Wisconsin Statutes gives the County Board the authority to appoint a County Clerk for the remainder of an unexpired term in the event of a vacancy; and

WHEREAS, Waukesha County Clerk Kathleen Novack notified the County Board in writing on October 15, 2018 that she will be resigning from office and it is anticipated that her resignation will be effective on or about December 7, 2018; and

WHEREAS, the position of Waukesha County Clerk was posted for two weeks and preferred candidates were interviewed by a panel with representation from the County Board, County Executive, Human Resources and the Wisconsin County Clerks Association; and

WHEREAS, the interview panel recommends Margaret Wartman to fill the vacancy in County Clerk Novack's term for the remainder of the unexpired term, which expires January 3, 2021; and

WHEREAS, to hold the office after this date, Margaret Wartman would be required to run for election in the August 11, 2020 primary election and the November 3, 2020 General Election for the new term beginning January 4, 2021.

THE WAUKESHA COUNTY BOARD OF SUPERVISORS OF THE COUNTY OF WAUKESHA RESOLVES Margaret Wartman be appointed Waukesha County Clerk to fill the vacancy of the unexpired term for the office and it is anticipated that she will be sworn in to the office on or before January 7, 2019.

RESOLUTION TO APPOINT MARGARET WARTMAN AS THE WAUKESHA COUNTY CLERK TO FILL THE VACANCY FOR THE REMAINDER OF THE UNEXPIRED TERM

Presented by: **Executive** Committee <

Paul L. Decker, Chair

Heinrich

Larry Nelson

AbsenT	_
David W Swan	
FIMM	
Peter M. Wolff	
T	<i>k</i>
David D. Zimmermann	
The foregoing legislation ado	ntad by the County Doord o

The foregoing legislation adopted by the County Board of Supervisors of Waukesha County, Wisconsin, was presented to the County Executive on:

Date: 12 21 Kathleen Novack, County Clerk (acture)

The foregoing legislation adopted by the County Board of Supervisors of Waukesha County, Wisconsin, is hereby:

Approved:	X
Vetoed:	

Date: 12-28-18

Paul Farrow, County Executive

173-R-003

of RoliCall-Pro Premium Tuesday, December 18, 2018 at 06:29 PM			
D1 - Foti	AYE	D14 - Wood	AYE
D2 - Zimmermann	AYE	D15 - Mitchell	AYE
D3 - Morris	AYE	D16 - Crowley	AYE
D4 - Batzko	AYE	D17 - Paulson	AYE
D5 - Dondlinger	AYE	D18 - Nelson	AYE
D6 - Walz	AYE	D19 - Cummings	AYE
D7 - Grant	AYE	D20 - Schellinger	AYE
D8 - Michalski	AYE	D21 - Gaughan	AYE
D9 - Heinrich	(M) AYE	D22 - Wysocki	AYE
D10 - Swan	Absent	D23 - Hammitt	AYE
D11 - Howard	AYE	D24 - Whittow	Absent
D12 - Wolff	AYE	D25 - Johnson	(2) AYE
D13 - Decker	AYE		
472.P.002	Daccod (23 V	Paccod (23 Y - 0 N - 2 Ahcont)	Mainrity Vota >